top of page
  • lamontagsociety

Member achieves Provincial Scholarship

Kelsey Eleniak was recognized for her achievements, with our community and academically during the Alberta Association of Agricultural Societies annual convention January 30-February 1, 2020 in Edmonton AB.

Eleniak and her family have been active members of the Lamont & District Agricultural Society for years. She became an official member when she turned 18, but has been counted on as a volunteer for many years prior to that.

Eleniak has very strong leadership qualities through her involvement in various capacities including sports and the ag society. She has spent time coaching and teaching younger athletes in both volleyball and skating, which has lead her to win a coaches award from the Lamont Lakers Athletic program. Eleniak has been a great influence to remaining positive and keep projects going forward with enthusiasm.

"Kelsey has the ability to work with many types of personalities during our events, which makes her a great asset working at our admissions booth. She is very kind and helpful." commented Rebecca Joseph, chair of the Bullarama Supreme.

Many times Eleniak has helped set up for events, which can sometimes be difficult in larger groups as many people have many ideas, however she is able to articulate her ideas into actions and plans as well as work with others to ensure things are being accomplished that will satisfy everyone’s needs.

Eleniak brings a fresh youth perspective that has been welcomed by many of our members and directors, and she has even brought along friends to volunteer with her which helps us grow our reach and membership.

Eleniak joins her two older siblings, Colby and Taryn as recipients of the scholarship, as well as numerous other youth members of the Lamont & District Agricultural Society.

“It has been very exciting to see multiple recipients of our group be recognized through the scholarship program. It shows the strength of our society's ability to help build leaders for the future of our community and the ag industry.” stated Shelley Loren, Vice President, as she recalls there being approximately 6 recipients of the AAAS Scholarship within the past 10 years.

2012- Rebecca Joseph

2014- Colby Eleniak

2017- Taryn Eleniak

2018- Boyd Gerow

2018- Ainsley Lopushinsky

2020- Kelsey Eleniak

The scholarship award is chosen by the award donors, Northlands and Calgary Stampede, and is awarded on an annual basis. Applicants must be nominated by their Agricultural Society.

27 views0 comments


bottom of page